Teachers, dont try to teach students, just inspire them

Hello friends,

Our Education system is one of my topics which I keep thinking and worrying. 

In this era, anyone can argue that there are good enough sources around us to learn from that we dont need textbooks or classes. I dont disagree. Why do you want to goto classes then? I believe that, the role of the teacher has changed considerably as we progress with time. The best things a teacher in this age can do is to INSPIRE, MOTIVATE and get the Student to think whether he/she is INTERESTED in the subject. If the student gets inspired, then rest, (s)he will figure out.

What prompted me to write this post – once again it is QUORA. I read about – Professor Walter Lewin. Professor Emeritus at MIT. Also called as the Professor who brings Physics to Life. 

One of his quotes – “Physics Works, and I’m still alive!”

He takes a lot of effort and risk in the class. Wish I could attend one of his classes. 🙂 See the video. 

Imagine the passion, enthusiasm and love for the subject that we emulates in the class. Wow. Wish we had more of these kind of teachers and professors!

Cheers,
Arjun

About Arjun
I'm currently running my Startup - Profoundis (www.profoundis.com). My FB - https://www.facebook.com/rarjunpillai My LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=79711386&trk=tab_pro

2 Responses to Teachers, dont try to teach students, just inspire them

  1. Thomas says:

    I wish I had more teachers like this when I was in school. I wasn’t that i don’t like learning just there are a lot more out there then most teachers teach or are allowed to teach. I never realized how much I loved reading until I read things that interest me. Nice post and well wishes on your startup.

    • Arjun says:

      Thanks Thomas.
      Very true. We dont realize our interests until we are exposed to that. Teachers have a BIG role to play.

Leave a Reply

